Wonderous Lot To Be Said About CBSE

So there is a wondrous lot to be said about the Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE].

DISCLAIMER: I mean no harm, physical or otherwise to the obviously dedicated staff of CBSE, or those who very blindly love them and follow them. I come in peace, and shall do so without violence, because I value Gandhian secularism.

Now that that’s out of the way, I need to get it off my chest – I have a lot to say about how horrible, horrible, horrible, I find CBSE. This could be for a variety of reasons.

a) They have introduced, along with a 200 page literary companion and a BBC Compacta, an unabridged version of The Story of My Life, by Helen Keller, which is frankly far too much, coupled with the formats needed to be learnt for letter writing, reports, essays, dialogue, description, process, notice, message, email, and various other means of communication that hardly anyone uses in the twenty-first century. To 15 year olds. Nice.

b) The all new PSA (Problem Solving Assessment) was introduced for the first time in the history of this syllabus when our finals were only a month away, and that accounts for a hefty percentage of our GPA.

c) Every task that the teachers have us do, CBSE wants proof that the student has performed and deserved the marks given to them by their teacher. This is completely okay for papers and written tasks, but when it comes to speaking skills, and acting out prose, they want full videos recording each and everything the student does and says.

I’m not sure if this is a practice in other boards or something, but I find it extremely annoying, especially when it’s us students who have to get our own cameras and record our videos and then file them away in a USB and provide our teacher with everything ready made, when we obviously have better things to focus on.

d) This teeny bit I personally dislike because I hate math in general, so it may not be the board that’s got the problem – maybe this is the way math is in every other curriculum or syllabi.

The prescribed textbooks that we have contain sums that we can easily do, but then there are guides that contain much harder stuff, and their concepts are completely different and there are a few extra formulae to learn which aren’t provided in the official textbook.

I know, yawn.

Thus, I conclude by saying that CBSE is not my cup of tea for various reasons. There are many more, but I’d rather not bore you to death by delving into them.

All I can say is that I’m glad I’m taking IB Diploma Programme my junior year.

Please tell me what you thought!

